Bipartisan Deal to End Gov Shutdown until Feb 08, 2018

Sen. Chuck Schumer said Monday that Democrats and Republicans have reached a bipartisan deal to end the government shutdown until February 8th, by which time if a deal is not reached, the Senate will immediately look to DACA legislation.

Why it matters: Not everyone is happy with the agreement, however, and numerous senators are still voting “no.”

Sen. Kamala Harris sent a statement saying that Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell’s words on DACA “fell far short of the ironclad guarantee I needed to support a stopgap spending bill”.
Sen. Kristen Gillibrand tweeted: “I want to see the government re-open as much as anyone, but this bill fails to fix the moral issue we must solve. That’s why I voted against it.”
Sen. Elizabeth Warren tweeted: “It’s been over 100 days since protection for 800k Dreamers ended, since community health centers were funded, since hurricanes ravaged TX, FL & PR. The Republicans refused to fix any of these issues– and they still haven’t fixed them. We don’t need new promises. We need new laws.”
Sen. Bob Menendez tweeted: “I couldn’t vote for this CR because nothing in the bill gave me any confidence that in three weeks Congress won’t end up exactly where we are today.”
Sen. Ed Markey tweeted: “I remain deeply skeptical of any short-term budget agreement that relies on the good faith commitment of @realDonaldTrump. A budgetary vision without funding is a hallucination.”
Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto tweeted, “.@realDonaldTrump created a crisis when he ended #DACA. Now, thousands of #Dreamers have lost their status, their jobs, & living in fear of deportation. Pitting Americans against one another is no way to govern. I voted no on cloture b/c Dreamers cannot wait. We must act now.”
Other Dems who voted “no:”

Sen. Corey Booker
Sen. Richard Blumenthal
Sen. Dianne Feinstein
Sen. Mazie Hirono
Sen. Patrick Leahy
Sen. Jeff Merkley
Sen. Chris Murphy
Sen. Bernie Sanders
Sen. Jon Tester
Sen. Ron Wyden
Republicans who voted no:

Sen. Mike Lee, who has not voted for the past short-term spending bills.
Sen. Rand Paul, who rarely votes for any budget that does not balance.


Comments are closed.